40 Things of 2008 1 What did you…

40 Things of 2008

1. What did you do in 2008 that you’d never done before?
Mostly mental and spiritual change. Saw a therapist and didn’t lie to her. Started living as a roommate rather than a dependent. Started taking responsibilities for my problems. Was honest with myself and with those close to me. Came to the realisation that I’m not a shit person, and that it’s other people’s loss if they can’t see how fabulous I am, despite my flaws.

2. Did you keep your new years’ resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
I think my resolution last year was to be happy and not fuck shit up by being neurotic. I think that went out the window, although the blame is not entirely on me alone. Next year I want to be able to let things go that are out of my control. I hope I can achieve that.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
Anita (to Olivia) and Gordana (to Stephanie, who I am yet to see!)

4. Did anyone close to you die?
No, thank God.
5. What countries did you visit?

Lame! I stayed here. I’m probably here until my kids grow up, unless I can somehow stash away some cash for a week of hilarity in Harajuku with my best friend.

6. What would you like to have in 2009 that you lacked in 2008?

The strength to be alone and not lonely. Failing that, a super awesome boyfriend that would make my previous acquisitions shit their pants would be nice.

7. What dates from 2008 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

Finding out I was pregnant for the second time.

The day Ross agreed to move out with me.

Teaching Ross to bake on the eve of Bea’s birthday, and falling into bed exhausted and happy.

The moment I realised that I wanted something that wasn’t possible.

Being rejected from being allowed to meet my partner’s friends.

Being told I was loved.

Being told I was never really loved how I thought I was.

Ross breaking up with me, in the driveway, on the phone, in the playground, and all the confusion and mixed messages that came with it.

Finding out my rejection was yet again, for the excitement of another girl and the escapism of drugs and avoiding reality.

Realising that I am better than what a man can offer me.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
Standing my ground and not giving in to save a relationship that wasn’t worth saving. Deciding to add to my family.

9. What was your biggest failure?
Giving in to animalistic temptation. Defending the inexcusable behaviours of other people and myself.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
Borderline septicemia for a botched tattoo, numerous trips to get an IV because of chronic morning sickness, overdose.

11. What was the best thing you bought?
My hideously expensive pencil skirts from Route 66, all my tattoos, and the Wilton giant cupcake pan, I didn’t have to order over the internet after all!

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?
My Mum’s, for supporting me in my life choices, for carrying me when I can’t quite make it, and being the most amazing grandmother ever known.

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?

Ross’s, for being the opposite.

14. Where did most of your money go?
Bills, bills, bills. Clothes for Bea.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?
Lizzi’s tranny party, because my moustache was too awesome to contain, seeing Tinonee come back after a year in Holland, Bea’s 3rd birthday, my Dad coming for Christmas, the zombie shuffle.

16. What songs will always remind you of 2008?
Anything by MGMT, Hot Chip, The Bird and The Bee.

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
a) happier or sadder? both.
b) thinner or fatter? fatter.
c) richer or poorer? richer.

18. What do you wish you’d done more of?
Letting go and partying while I could! Accepting things without being a stick in the mud.

19. What do you wish you’d done less of?
Crying.

22. Did you fall in love in 2008?
I was already in love at the start of it.

23. How many one-night stands?
Zero.

24. What was your favorite TV program?
The L Word.

25. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?
Probably, but I’m trying not to focus on shitty energy anymore.

26. What was the best book you read?
Uhhh… fuck. I don’t know that I read anything this year. That’s woeful.

27. What was your greatest musical discovery?
Chuck Berry. Rediscovering my love for rockabilly music and how happy it makes me.

28. What did you want and get?
An addition to my family.

29. What did you want and not get?
A strong man to head my family.

30. What was your favorite film of this year?
Released? Jesus, it was a shitty year for films. The Dark Knight was good quality.

31. What did you do on your birthday?
I don’t even remember, it must have been hellishly lame. Oh no, my plans fell through and I spent the night having a Guitar Hero battle at Ross’ house.

32.What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
Karma. But that’s shitty, so no. My year would have been more satisfying if I’d got at least one of the 500 jobs I applied for.

33. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2008?
Suicide Girl gone suburban.

34. What kept you sane?
Beatrix. Mario Kart battles with Mum.

35. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
Shane from The L Word.

36. What political issue stirred you the most?
I was actually slightly interested in the presidential campaign, there’s a first.

37. Who did you miss?
Grant, my dad.

38. Who was the best new person you met?
Lizzi.

39. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2008:
Tell the truth.

40. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year:
Take these broken wings and learn to fly.


